Die Schwalbe

1 problem(s) found in 2515 milliseconds (displaying 1 problem(s)). [PROBID='P1377131'] [download as LaTeX]

1 - P1377131
Robert Norman
Chess Magazine 06/1988
P1377131
(3+4)
Gewinn
1. g6! Sd7+ 2. Kf7+! Sxe5+ 3. g7+! Kh7 4. g8=D+ Kh6 5. Dg7#
play all play one stop play next play all
This problem was sent to CHESS Magazine, known as Pergamon Chess at the time. See https://twitter.com/Berlin_Endgame/status/1271456213889355778

"Dear Sir,
I have composed a miniature which seems to cause some controversy among those I have shown it to: (diagram) White to play and win.

Neither I nor my computer can find an appropriate forcing sequence after a queen or king move. By default: 1. g6 Nd7+ 2. Kf7 Nxe5+ 3. g7+

I am convinced that this is legal. Article 9.1 of the Laws of Chess states that "a king is in check when the square if occupies is attacked by one or two pieces." This wording specifically eliminates the possibility of the king being of check when it is attacked by three pieces. Therefore White's third move is in accordance with Article 9.2: "check must be parried by the move immediately following."
The remaining play is trivial: 3... Kh7 4. g8=Q+ Kh6 5. Qg7#
It is not too far-fetched to suppose that such a situation could arise in a game. The FIDE Rules Commission should therefore be invited to change the wording of Article 9.1 at Thessaloniki. If you agree, or think the problem is sufficiently amusing, it would give my great pleasure to see it published in your magazine.

ROBERT NORMAN,
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
April 11, 1988"

(See P1377133 for another version.)

AB: As an orthodox study, these days we know definitively by tablebase that the position is a draw. But in WinChloe, we can run the Bosma condition but realistically only as a directmate. As a #7 WinChloe gave:
1. g6? [2. Qe8#]
1. ... Sd7+ 2. Kf7+ Sf6+ 3. Kf8 [4. Qxf6+ Rg7 5. Qxg7#] Rf7+ 4. Kxf7 [5. Qxf6#] Bxg6+ 5. Kxg6
[6. Qe7 [7. Qg7#] Se8 7. Qh7/Qxe8/Qf8#
6. ... Sh5 7. Qh7/Qe8/Qd8/Qf8#
6. Qxf6+ Kg8 7. Qd8/Qg7#]
So there is no mention of the intended (short) solution after 2. ... Sxe5+ 3. g7+ Kh7 4. g8=Q+ Kh6 5. Qg7#
but 1. ... Kg8!
The point now is 2. Qe8+? Kf7+! 3. K~5 Kxe8! winning for Black. I have had WinChloe analyze both the original position, and that after 1. g6 Kg8 as #8, and there is no other solution or try. I think that as a study it's probably still a win for White, who following 1. ... Kg8 also has e.g. 2. Qd5/Qf6+ Kf7+ 3. K~5+ etc, but how long would it take as a directmate? Any ideas? And can anyone confirm definitively that the study is cook-free?
Reprints:
https://www.ecforum.org.uk/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10842&p=245798#p245798
https://chess.stackexchange.com/questions/29990/when-was-it-possible-for-a-players-king-to-be-attacked-by-3-of-the-opponents-p/29992#29992
http://www.arves.org/arves/images/PDF/EG_PDF/eg95.pdf
An old Dutch site: http://www.caissa-amsterdam.nl/caissa-post/om-de-tanden-op-stuk-te-bijten/#respond
An obituary of the author's father: https://www.keverelchess.com/exmouth/pioneers/3199/
comment
Keywords: Golden Age, Promotion (D), Joke, Phoenix, Bosma
Genre: Studies
FEN: 1n5k/1r6/5K2/4Q1Pb/8/8/8/8
Reprints: EG , p. 24, 4/1989
Input: James Malcom, 2020-06-19
Last update: A.Buchanan, 2020-11-08 more...
Show statistic for complete result. Show search result faster by using ids.

https://pdb.dieschwalbe.de/search.jsp?expression=PROBID='P1377131'

The problems of this query have been registered by the following contributors:

James Malcom (1)