Die Schwalbe

1 problem(s) found in 2238 milliseconds (displaying 1 problem(s)). [PROBID='P0000758'] [download as LaTeX]

1 - P0000758
Gerd Rinder
1033 Die Schwalbe 21 06/1973
1. Preis
P0000758
(7+11)
Remis (AP)
Weiß ist patt. 1. cxb6ep ist nur zulässig, wenn Schwarz diese a posteriori durch die Rochade rechtfertigt. Weiß kann aber so spielen, daß Schwarz nicht rochieren kann, z.B. 1. ... Lxc7 2. bxc7
play all play one stop play next play all
Guus Rol: This is an incorrect interpretation of the AP-convention. Rules outrank goals in the definition of all GAMES. Therefore the legitimacy of a move cannot be restricted by the desire to achieve the goal (in this case: Remis). The proper way to view AP is that executing e.p. invalidates the legitimacy of all lines of future play that do not contain 0-0-0! In that sense black and white are forced to cooperate. In whatever freedom remains they can compete for the prize promised in the stipulation. By the way, this understanding of AP is not only more logical, it is also much more interesting as a playing field for AP-composition. (2005-09-21)
mri: citeWeiß kann aber so spielen, daß Schwarz nicht rochieren kann, z.B. 1. ... Lxc7 2. bxc7
/cite
How does white prevent black from castling after 1. cxb6 e.p. Ba7xb6+?
E.g. 2.Kxb6 a1=R 3.a7 Rxa7, or 2.Ka4 Bd8xc7 3.a7 Bb8. (2005-09-22)
VL: 1.c5xb6ep(??) a7xb6+ 2.Kxb6 a1R 3.Kb7 R1xa6 4.Rc8! (R6a7#?? illegal).
This study is correct under the generally accepted understanding of AP
a la' N.Petrovic'. Antiform (looking possibly somewhat strange):
Black's unsuccessful try. (2005-10-03)
Guus Rol: Generally accepted, true. Generally acceptable, false. Freedom of interpretation ceases for a concept once its polar concept (a priori validation) has been defined. "Goal induced AP" however, might be a passable stipulation for this type of problem. To keep this place from turning into a discussion forum I will discontinue comments on this issue. (2005-10-03)
paul: Author intention is: If black still can castle, his last move must have been b7-b5. However, to prove this, he has to castle (A Posteriori condition). So: 1.cxb6 e.p. axb6+ 2.Kxb6 a1R! (2...a1Q? 3.Kb7 Qxa6 mate obviously doesn`t prove b7-b5 as the last move) 3.Kb7 R1xa6 4.Rc8! and white has prevented black from castling. So black can`t prove the last move is b7-b5 and therefor is already stalemated in the initial position! (2011-07-12)
comment
Keywords: En passant as key, Castling (sg), a posteriori (AP)
Genre: Retro, Studies
FEN: r2bk3/p1Rpp3/P1p2p2/KpP2P2/1P2p3/1P6/p7/8
Reprints: (4) Problem 161-164 11/1973
317 Europe Echecs 217 01/1977
(A) Die Schwalbe 80 04/1983
408 Eigenartige Schachprobleme 2010
M36 mpk-Blätter 12/2011
Input: Gerd Wilts, 1995-06-03
Last update: A.Buchanan, 2020-12-08 more...
Show statistic for complete result. Show search result faster by using ids.

https://pdb.dieschwalbe.de/search.jsp?expression=PROBID%3D%27P0000758%27

The problems of this query have been registered by the following contributors:

Gerd Wilts (1)